Dannii Elle's Reviews > Water for Elephants

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
44487975
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: historical-highness, romantic-recollections

I can fully see why this book has such a polarizing effect on its readers: the circus setting led me to anticipate this as a fantastical and magical, fast-paced read, akin to The Night Circus. What was actually delivered was a moving and slow-building portrait of life as part of a circus. This was densely descriptive and evocative of the life of Jacob Jankowski, veterinarian for the Benzini Brothers' circus show, but there was little plot to move the story forward.

The novel was split between past Jacob, as he traveled with the circus, and present Jacob, as he reminisced on his life whilst incarcerated into a nursing home by ill-health and old age. It was interesting learning why the naive and hopeful youth turned into the old miser the story opens with.

This is, in fact, a romance story with an unusual and exotic background. I fell in love with the story and the characters, despite the simplicity of the tale. For me, this book's strongest moments were in the beautiful simplicity and the thorough creation of the wonderful setting. I fell into the pages and was lost in this past, magical world.
53 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Water for Elephants.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 2, 2015 – Shelved
September 2, 2015 – Shelved as: to-read
July 18, 2016 – Started Reading
July 18, 2016 –
5.0% "“When you are five, you know your age down to the month. Even in your twenties, you know how old you are. I'm twenty-three you say, or maybe twenty-seven. But then in your thirties, something strange starts to happen. It is a mere hiccup at first, an instant of hesitation. How old are you? Oh, I'm--you start confidently, but then you stop. You were going to say thirty-three, but you are not. You're thirty-five.""
July 18, 2016 –
10.0% "This is as hilarious in some parts as it is poignant in others"
July 19, 2016 –
26.0% "The treatment of the circus animals makes me so sad :("
July 19, 2016 –
45.0% "I am totally falling in love with Rosie the elephant!"
July 19, 2016 –
54.0%
July 20, 2016 – Shelved as: historical-highness
July 20, 2016 – Shelved as: romantic-recollections
July 20, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Brittany great review!


message 2: by ✘Tabby✘ (new) - added it

✘Tabby✘ Great review! Made me want to read the book thanks :)


Dannii Elle Tabby wrote: "Great review! Made me want to read the book thanks :)"

Brittany wrote: "great review!"

Thanks guys :D You totally should, Tabby!


Sanne (TheBookDutchess) Have you seen the film? Does the book differ a lot ?


Dannii Elle Sanne (thebookdutchess) wrote: "Have you seen the film? Does the book differ a lot ?"

Not yet, I'm hoping to watch it tomo night ☺


Sanne (TheBookDutchess) The film was really good but I am wondering if it's worth it to read the book as well :)


message 7: by Councillor (new) - added it

Councillor Awesome review, Dannii! I'm really looking forward to this novel. :)


Dannii Elle Sanne (thebookdutchess) wrote: "The film was really good but I am wondering if it's worth it to read the book as well :)"

I still haven't watched it but I shall let you know :)


Dannii Elle Councillor wrote: "Awesome review, Dannii! I'm really looking forward to this novel. :)"

Aww, thank you so much. People seem to have such a difference of opinion on this but I hope you love it as much as I did!


back to top

Ashley Grenville | The Sea of Tranquility | Season 2 Episode 19 The Man Under the Hood