Frankie Lovely's Reviews > Water for Elephants

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
61971658
's review

it was ok
bookshelves: read-it-in-2017, rtc-review-to-come, stand-alone

2 stars
Review to come


BR with ~Bellegirl91~

There are things I liked and disliked about this book.
42 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Water for Elephants.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 27, 2016 – Shelved
November 27, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
January 27, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-next
February 7, 2017 – Started Reading
February 7, 2017 –
20.0% "BR with ~Bellegirl91~"
February 11, 2017 –
40.0%
February 13, 2017 – Shelved as: read-it-in-2017
February 13, 2017 – Shelved as: rtc-review-to-come
February 13, 2017 – Shelved as: stand-alone
February 13, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

bella ϟ  [ bella farren ] I haven't read the book but I loved the movie! Hope you enjoy xx


Frankie Lovely bella ♔ wrote: "I haven't read the book but I loved the movie! Hope you enjoy xx"

Thanks girl!


✶Rachelle✶ I'm excited to see what you think....this has been on my bookshelf for a while.


~Bellegirl91~ Yay!!!! I'm getting carried away!plus I'm surprised of how much time I've had this week to myself to get more reading done haha hope you're enjoying it!


~Bellegirl91~ Bella: you should read it. Haha I told Frankie here the only reason I need to read this is because my sister for the movie on blu ray for me two years ago for Christmas and I uh haven't watched it yet. Haha I told her I hadn't seen it and she said "oh it was cheap" haha. Plus I think she thought I still liked Pattinson. So how was the movie and how was Pattinson? I'm having a hard time picturing him for Jacob.


bella ϟ  [ bella farren ] @belle I enjoyed the movie (although I saw it a few years ago so my memories a little murky) but I thought Pattison did an okay job, I liked him in this better than Twilight but he wasn't ground breaking or anything hahaha! I actually have the book on my bookshelf so I'll have to bump it up my TBR if you guys say it's good :)


Frankie Lovely ~Bellegirl91~ wrote: "Yay!!!! I'm getting carried away!plus I'm surprised of how much time I've had this week to myself to get more reading done haha hope you're enjoying it!"

Gah you are leaving me in the dust!!! lol


~Bellegirl91~ You left me in the dust on Throne of Glass ;):P haha as slow as I can be at times, ESPECIALLY with audiobooks, I'm surprised how fast I'm cruising haha


Frankie Lovely Ok true true ... I supposed it is only fair then :P


~Bellegirl91~ so what did you think overall? lol


message 11: by Frankie Lovely (last edited Jun 12, 2017 08:20PM) (new) - rated it 2 stars

Frankie Lovely I liked it ... I think I might raise my rating to 3 ... would have been better without old Jacob I think. I just never liked his POV and could have done without it altogether tbh


~Bellegirl91~ I agree. I didn't MIND it but it was too weird to have it in spurts and majorly confusing. Looking back and skimming through the prologue, I wish what they DID with the audio is have young Jacob speak, and then that last little paragraph at the end have old Jacob speak...and THEN do the last chapter as old Jacob if that makes sense. I would've loved that better and same with the writing. I felt the old Jacob parts were more like a fill in to me but I DID get 30 minutes into the movie haha and did like how it was started and thought, "actually, what if she had done it that way instead of the stampede at the beginning?" which would've been more exciting I think if it wasn't mentioned until that moment! so like start with the end where he tells the guy at the circus in the trailer the story instead. So looks like I may like the movie better than the book which is rare of course but yeah. I just hope old Jacob isn't in the movie as much except for the beginning and end :) but I found his part "random" in a way......but yeah, it was still good and August, Marlena and Jacob grew on me later on.


back to top

Watch Movie | 新热剧榜 | Hungry Shark Evolution